Clinical trials that involve the use of an unregistered medicine require approval under Section 30 of the Medicines Act 1981. Scientific assessment of clinical trials that involve the introduction of nucleic acids, genetically manipulated micro-organisms, or viruses or cells into human subjects is undertaken by the HRC's Gene Technology Advisory Committee (GTAC), rather than the HRC's Standing Committee on Therapeutic Trials (SCOTT).

Committee members: 

Professor Ian Morison - Chair
University of Otago, Dunedin
Professor Ian Alexander
Sydney Children's Hospital, Sydney, Australia
Associate Professor Lynley Anderson
University of Otago, Dunedin
Professor Stephen Chambers
University of Otago, Christchurch
Dr Jade Elissa
University of Otago, Dunedin
Professor Stephen Robertson
University of Otago, Dunedin
Associate Professor Richard Robson
Christchurch Clinical Studies Trust, Christchurch
Professor Peter Browett
The University of Auckland

Ex officio member:
Professor Kathryn McPherson
Chief Executive, Health Research Council of New Zealand

HRC Contact:  Ms Lana Lon

Gene Technology Advisory Committee Terms of Reference.pdf229.4 KB