Back to top anchor

Māori Health Committee

The Māori Health Committee is a statutory committee of the Health Research Council and is responsible for advising Council on health research for Māori, including cultural issues relating to the gathering, verification, and validation of information.

New Zealand fern koru

The Māori Health Committee held its first meeting on 14 February 1991, which was chaired by the late Professor Eru Pomare (Te Atiawa, Ngati Toa, Ngati Kahungunu, Rongomaiwahine, Rongowhakaata), the founding Chair of the MHC.

Application assessment and peer review of Māori health research and career development grants is undertaken each year by appointing Māori health assessing committees with expertise specific to the applications within a given funding round. The Māori health assessing committees are chaired by a Māori Health Committee member, with other members made up of qualified Māori researchers.

The functions of the Māori Health Committee are set out in Sections 17 to 22 of the Health Research Council Act 1990, and the criteria for membership is set out in Section 23. Click here for the Terms of Reference.

Committee members:

  • Professor Emma Wyeth - Chair (Kāi Tahu, Te Ātiawa, Ngāti Tama and Ngāti Mutunga), Māori Health, Director – Ngāi Tahu Māori Health Research Unit, and Associate Dean Māori – Division of Health Sciences, University of Otago
  • Dr Annabel Ahuriri-Driscoll (Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Kahungunu ki Heretaunga) Senior Lecturer Above the Bar - Māori Health and Wellbeing, School of Health Sciences, University of Canterbury
  • Dr Kimiora Henare (Te Rarawa, Te Aupōuri) Research Fellow, Te Kupenga Hauora Māori, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, the University of Auckland
  • Associate Professor Sarah-Jane Paine (Tuhoe, Ngāti Rongo) Research Director, Growing Up in New Zealand and Senior Lecturer, Te Kupenga Hauora Māori, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, the University of Auckland
  • Dr Naomi Simmonds (Raukawa, Ngāti Huri) Independent researcher and Kaitakawaenga Māori, Deep South National Science Challenge
  • Dr Isaac Warbrick (Ngāti Te Ata, Te Arawa, Ngā Puhi) Senior Lecturer and Co-Director of Tapua Waiora Centre for Māori Health Research, Auckland University of Technology

Committee Secretary: Ms Le-Shan Pomana-Wesley - Manager, Māori Health Research